First, I’d like to disclose I’m a licensed real estate broker in New York. Use this information at your own risk.

OK, let’s go.

There are a few reasons I would like to purchase a full floor condo. Everyone has their own preference. Some people would rather a townhouse, garden apartment, etc. There is no right or wrong, it’s all about whatever makes you happen in my opinion.

With that being said, I like full floor condos and here is why.

1. Doorman. I like the security of having a door person. They may not jump in front of a bullet for you. Just kidding. But seriously, they should add some level of security.

2. Views. I like big open views. Can be city view, Hudson River view, East River view and Central Park view.

3. Privacy. When you have a full floor condo, for the most part, you get off the elevator and the floor is yours.

4. Garage. Indoor garage parking is nice. Not all buildings have it. Most don’t.

5. Noise. The last reason I’m going to mention and don’t hold me to this, is noise.

I haven’t really spent a lot of time in a high floor condo lately. I’ve spent some time, just not a long amount of time. I assume the higher you are the less noise you hear.

Do your own research. Every situation is different. Do not hold me to this. I’m not sure what floor you would have to live on to hear a reduction in noise.

Some of the new condos are very tall. As you get to the top is it more quite than living on a lower floor?

I would think yes but thorough research would have to be done to know for sure.

I recommend spending as much time as possible in a condo before purchase.

Also, you can walk around the condo to see if there are any new buildings going up that may block your views. Of course, you can do all the research in the world and I would still not guarantee your views will stand forever.

I have seen so many new buildings block older buildings views at this point. I’m not sure if you can ever be totally safe from it. Partial block, more than partial, almost full block and full blocking of views.

I can write a book about this topic but I’m not right now. I’m going it cut it here.

Mark Pine licensed real estate broker in New York.

Use this information at your own risk.

Thank you very much for reading and have a great day.

